Her Diary 1

Episode 1

A distraught Lola Jones barged out of the auditorium with a palm imprint on her right cheek, tears flowing down her cheeks. Her long hurried steps covered the distance to her motorbike in the shortest time ever. Mounting on her bike, she drove off into the night, without her helmet. She didn’t bother for it. She simply needed to be far away from here.
She didn’t know where she was headed but she kept going. Driving her bike at top speed, she didn’t notice a car approach her. Her mind was occupied by the events of earlier. The bright headlight blinded her vision and she lost control. She landed on the steep side of the road bruised.
####
Efe ran out as she drove out of the parking lot. Her receding figure caused his heart to wince painfully. He couldn’t blame her for running away, it was the only solution to the situation. He could only hope she wouldn’t get herself in trouble.
He turned to head back inside when he saw both of them approach him. It seemed like they were in a heated argument.
“She is my sister, you shouldn’t interfere in matters that you know nothing of.” Lily spat coldly.
“Lola is my friend” Efe retorted.
“You both are not helping right now” Alex rebuked. “Efe take her home, I will go after Lola”
“The great Lily Jones can find her way home” Efe taunted. “I have to find Lola”
“That’s Alex’s job, not yours” Lily chided him. “Why the sudden interest in her? Are you screwing her? You are using her, aren’t you? She is too naive to realize your true intention but not me”
Efe and Alex shared a look. Is she serious?
“Only a dirty minded person think that,” Efe said approaching his brown Venza car.
Alex shook his head and joined Efe in his car. Lily clenched her fists furious. She looked down at her red body-hugging evening ball gown and silver strappy stiletto. She couldn’t possibly find her way in her dress and shoes. She picked up the hem of her gown and went back inside.

#####
Lola’s head was throbbing from the impact of her fall. Her body was bruised in different places but she insisted she was brought only to st. Hill hospital. The man whose headlight blurred her vision was with her till she was treated and allowed to rest.
“Thank you,” Lola said. “You can leave now, I am in good hands”
“Are you sure?” The man asked. “Why don’t you call your family or friend before I leave” he suggested.
She smiled. “My friend works here”
He was reluctant to leave her. He didn’t want her making trouble out of the incident.
“I won’t make trouble. I am at fault for driving at such speed at wee hours of the night.”
“I should have been careful too. Take care of yourself” with that he left the room.
Lola laid on the bed, staring at the white ceiling. Her eyes welled up again but could not blink them back. She was in a horrible mood earlier, now she was in terrible shape. Her mind drifted back to the event.
She sat up and wiped her tears and pressed the emergency button. A nurse rushed in less than a minute.
“Please take me to the psychology ward”
“You can’t leave-”
Lola ignored her, removing the iv drip in her arm. She grunted in pains standing up.
“The psychologist isn’t around. When she arrives, I will send her here” The nurse said helping her back into bed and fixing the drip.
She cried her eyes out after the nurse left.

#####
Efe dropped Alex at his house but there was no sign of Lola. Both of them didn’t feel like entering the house so they sat on the steps. Alex was so sure Lola would come to him after her fight with sister but he was disappointed. She doesn’t have favorite places to go or friends to hang out with as her sister took all her time.
It was surprising they fought and on an important night. Lola wasn’t one to argue with Lily, they were inseparable. One has to wonder what happened. Why was Lola pissed at Lily?
####
Lily dragged her tired body into her house. The maid ushered her in. She kicked off her stiletto and made her way to her room. She slumped on the bed, almost immediately Lola’s scent assaulted her nostrils. She stiffened.
Lola wasn’t home, was she with Alex?
She reached for her phone and send him a message. He replied instantly.
“She’s not with me” she mumbled. She tossed the phone aside.
Lola’s words echoed in her head. The way Lola looked at her like she was her foe. The pain in her voice, her tears were seemed different too.
For the first time in her life, she raised her hand on her younger sister. Was she at fault? Why did she react in such a way? Why did her words hurt her deeply?
She stood up from the bed, walked to her portrait and opened her safe behind it. She brought out her diary.
#####
The hospital bill was settled already and Lola didn’t see the need to stay longer when it was morning. She groaned in pains, making her way to the psychology ward. Her psychologist was surprised to see her in a disheveled state, her strapless milky gown was stained, barefoot, her black peep toes sandals in her hand. Her eyes showing the aftermath of crying. She was early too. Lola was never punctual to her sessions.
“What happened?”
Lola hummed in the relief her body got from sitting on the couch. “I told Lily she’s her father’s daughter during a fight”
Her therapist was surprised. “That’s great progress”
She chuckled quietly. “I was tempted to call her Mr. Jones daughter but it was stuck in my throat”
“You’re no longer afraid-”
Lola cut her off. “I wasn’t afraid, I just didn’t want to be my father.”
“How do you feel? Angry, happy, doleful, hopeful?”
“Numb” Lola answered. “I don’t feel anything”
She contorted her face. After her ceaseless therapies, she finally accepted her truth. She became one with herself addressing her father without the pain in her heart. She couldn’t possibly have felt nothing.
“Lola-”
“I am ending my therapy. This is my last session, thank you. I never would have done it without you” she cut her off.
“This can’t-”
“This is what I always wanted, to stop the pain here” she pointed at her heart.
Lola stood up and walked out. Her therapist let her leave. She had seen the headline of last night charity funding event. The younger Jones made a rare appearance but ran off stage, leading to a heated argument backstage with her sister.
Maybe it is too much to expect a well headed Lola right now.
#####
“How do I get home?” Lola grumbled, walking out of the hospital. “I left my purse and phone with Alex, my bike is in bad shape”
Suddenly, a pair of hands grabbed her, shoving her into a solid surface. She grunted. She pulled her to see who it was.
“Efe” she mumbled.
“What happened to you? Why didn’t you go to Alex’s? We were worried sick”
She released himself from his grip. “You are Lily’s boyfriend, you should be with her”
He grimaced. “Let’s go back in, you look terrible. Why did you step out? You need bed rest. I will call Alex”
“You are a doctor, your patients need you,” she said stepping back from his reach. “I am no longer your patient. I don’t need weekly check up anymore or shots”
“Do you have a death wish?”
She grinned. “I do”
“Lola!” Efe called going after her. “I apologize on behalf of Lily, she shouldn’t have raised her hand on you”
Lola ignored him, walking out of the hospital’s yard. He caught up with her. “I’m sorry. I should have been backstage with you, I should have stopped her”
“You don’t have to be. I am not upset.” She said with a smile. “Thanks to her action, I stopped hurting. I am happy, Efe. Happy”
“Lola” he muttered pulling her in for a hug. She let herself to nest in his arms.
Lola pulled away. She gave him one last look before she flagged down a taxi.

Leave a comment