Her Diary 4

Lola stared at the diary in her hand for so long she didn’t realize her tears dropped. She snapped out of it when a knock sounded on her office door. She felt moist on her cheeks. She touched her face and it was moist. She picked a Kleenex tissue and wiped her tears, let out a breath and went to the door.
“Mrs. Ify?” She was surprised to find her standing before her. She knew her bar but she didn’t always frequent it because of the smell of beer and cigarettes.
“Am I not welcomed?” Mrs. Ify asked sensing her hesitation.
“Of course” she held the door wide for her to enter.
“Please have a seat” Lola offered. “What can I get you?”
“I don’t drink”
“I have non-alcoholic drinks”
“Why haven’t you come home?” Mrs. Ify questioned, going straight to the point.
“I did”
“You haven’t forgiven her?”
“I have”
“When will you come home?”
“Don’t know”
Mrs. Ify flared up. “What’s with your two-word answer? Is it a new trend?”
Lola chuckled. “I’m sorry”
Mrs. Ify was like a mother figure to her and her sister since they had lost their mother at a young age. She had served in Mr. Jones house their father and left with them when Lily bought her house. She had said she would be idle if she stayed behind so she insisted on going with them. She was more of a friend than Lily was and knew more about her than her sister.
“I told you a day would come and I wouldn’t return home because it would finally be quiet in my head and I would be at peace”
“Human beings are never at peace, there is always something to rally us up. It’s the choice we make that brings the illusion of peace”
Lola laughed. “Maybe you are right. I won’t argue”
“Be home tonight. I’ll make your favorite” Mrs. Ify said with a smile.
Lola crossed over to her side of the table, squatted in front of her and held her hand. “I know you are scared and worried, it’s okay, it means you are human. But I have to do this, she has to be happy again”
“You saved her life from her cruelty called Jones himself, why hold yourself responsible? If there is someone to blame, it’s your father and your selfish, self-centered sister.” Mrs. Ify withdrew her hands, a growl on her face.
“I destroyed a life that day, I could never forget the pained look she gave me like I was a monster legends spoke of. I did this to her, I have to undo it. She deserves happy again”
“Don’t you deserve to be happy? What about Alex?”
She stood up. “Alex will be fine”
“I’ll not allow you to destroy yourself to save a dying person”
“Mrs. Ify!” She barked. She walked closer to her. “That dying person is my sister. She is dying because of me, me!”
Mrs. Ify walked out of the office without a glance at her. Lola heaved a sigh, a hand on her forehead, the other on her waist.
She didn’t have to be the one to correct her mistake but she had run away from it for so long, no one else could correct her mistake.
####
Lily stared out the window. No matter how hard she tries to shake off the thought of her sister embarrassing her at the event. She had worked so hard for her career and reputation without a taint in it, and in one night, a huge blot appeared on it.
So what if she hit Lola? She had a right to smack her if needed, to set her straight but it seems it only made her the villain. Her boyfriend and head of her house staffs Mrs. Ify thinks otherwise.
She tugged her hands into her pants and turned to view her monopoly color office. Styled in high exquisite European furniture, couch, coffee table, vase, and a huge flat-screen television.
“What would you have done dad?” She asked, her eyes fixed on her father’s picture on her table, next to it was Lola’s.
“How did you handle her?”
She brought out her phone and dialed a number. “Report in my office immediately.” She said and hung up.
She walked to her chair, sat down and crossed her legs, leaning back on the chair.
Minutes later, a knock was heard.
“Come in”
A stout man in a brown leather jacket and ripped jeans paired with sneakers entered her office. Lily pressed a button on her table and the blinds were shut.
“Report” she ordered.
“Lola hasn’t changed her route until recently.”
“Who does she met? Where does she go to? How long does she stay?” Lily asked.
“She met with her cracks people”
“Lola is doing drugs again?!” She exclaimed. “Has she skipped any therapy?”
“No.”
“Who take drugs and do therapy? What is wrong with her? Does she want to be clean or not?” Lily growled.
“Continue to watch her,” she said after some time.
Lily stormed out of her office. She ordered her driver to take her home. She barged into her house seethed in anger. She yelled for Mrs. Ify.
“She went out” a maid trembling came forward to report.
“Get out!”
She dumped all the items in her bag on the glass table, searching for her phone. She dialed Lola but she didn’t pick, as usual, she dialed Mrs. Ify.
A ringing phone nearby made her swiveled around. She tossed her phone aside.
“Where were you?” Lily rudely questioned.
“I have a right to go out”
“Lola is taking cracks again, you went to get her a refill right? How long will you continue to do this?”
“You still your people follow her everywhere? She is not a lab rat, she is your sister-”
Lily interrupted her. “Who is a junkie!” She roared. “I respect you but it doesn’t make you my mother, you should know your place and stay in it. Do not encroach”
“Noted,” she said in a calm voice. “What will-”
Lily suddenly groaned in pain, holding her midsection. She slowed walked to the couch and lay on it, writhing.
“Have you taken your medicine?”
Lily answered with a grunt. She quickly searched her stuff on the table and found her medicine. She ran for water before she made her take her medicine.
####
“Alex” Lola called, her head resting comfortably on his chest while watching a movie. She had returned to his house after she closed from the bar.
He hummed a reply.
“Will you find happiness again if anything happens to me?”
He was surprised by her question. He tightened his arms around her. “I’ll do absolutely anything to have you by my side, then I wouldn’t need to find happiness again”
“Life is unpredictable”
“My love isn’t,” Alex said firmly.
“I know” she snuggled closer to him. “I love me so much though I don’t deserve it. I am a bad person, why would you want to be with me? Love me? Why?” She lifted her face to him.
He kissed the tip of her nose. “Your past doesn’t define you. I know the woman I fell in love with, she would never hurt anyone”
“You trust me so much”
Alex responded with a sound kiss on her lips. She giggled.
Lola reached for a diary behind and gave it to him. “I need you to give Lily this diary when you feel it’s time”
“I don’t get you,” Alex said sitting up.
“I don’t have the guts give her myself and I don’t have a perfect timing”
“There is no perfect time Lola”
“Will you give her?” Lola questioned.
“Okay” Alex reluctantly agreed.

Leave a comment